Morning Lifehacks

DeathtoStock_Desk5I am a budding cook and this statement is very forgiving. As I have settled into a routine as a postgrad, I have discovered it is not normal to get a majority of your meals from a stranger in a window. Because of this discovery, I am working to make homemade meals a priority. From my ventures in cooking, I have discovered the concept of mise-en-place. It’s a French phrase meaning to put everything in its place and is a commandment of professional chefs who completely set up their kitchen before cooking.

The concept of mise-en-place translates well into my working life as well. At the start of every day, I make sure to put everything in its place so I can begin working and using my time in the most productive way. Check out my morning mise-en-place tasks:

  1. Clear your desk of any clutter
  2. Create a list of tasks to complete that day
  3. Review your calendar and make any notes if needed
  4. Check your voicemail
  5. Check your email

Establishing a morning routine has helped me get my days off on the right start and allow myself to focus for the day.

How can mise-en-place translate into your morning routine?

Also check out 20 Free Printable To-Do Lists from Brit+Co. for some adorable inspiration!

One thought on “Morning Lifehacks

Leave a comment